h1

Oh, the Homogeny

June 16, 2010

Some call it Pop-Punk, some call it Emo Rock. Some insist there’re crucial differences between the two. Those individuals are delusional. Now, before I go any further, let me say one thing – I like Pop-Punk. I don’t know what it is – I think it has something to do with the type of singing – but it’s just very easy to get hooked on. But, not only are there no differences between Pop-Punk and Emo Rock, the same is true of most artists in said genres. I’m constantly amazed by the utter and consistent level of homogeny in Pop-Punk albums. It’s almost as if all the Pop-Punk artists get together every couple of years and say “Ok, this is how we’re gonna do this shit. NO VARIATION. Any questions? No? Go make the same music as everyone else!”. For a genre that’s supposed to be about rebellion and anti-conformity (and crying over lost love, but that’s another story), nobody’s really innovating. At all. If I put 10 songs by 10 different pop punk bands on a CD and sold it as an album by only one of the bands, I’m pretty confident the average consumer would be taken in.

On a completely different note (Yes, I’m bad at segues. Deal with it) , I was watching a Seinfeld episode earlier tod- wait. Let me start over. I have curly hair. The thing about curly hair, my sort especially, is that when wet, it loses about 75% of its volume. Naturally, when I wash my hair and go to school, I get some comments. They tend to go like this “Oh hey, did you get a haircut?”. To which I almost invariably (except on the 4 or so times a year I’ve gotten a haircut) respond “No. I washed my hair”.  You’d think by the time 8 months had gone by, people would learn. The classmates I’ve been with for about 4 years are just starting to catch on. ANYWAYS. Earlier today, I was watching a Seinfeld episode, an early one, and George and Jerry are sitting in the car. George goes “Haircut?” – you see where this is going (I hope. If not, you either skimmed the last few sentences or are exceptionally dim. No offense) – and Jerry responds “Nope. Washed it”. Now, on behalf of curly-haired people everywhere, let me say a few words on curly hair.

  1. You may think you want curly hair. You are mistaken. Curly hair is a fucking pain in the ass. (I get this all the time from middle-aged women. “Oh, you have such gorgeous hair! Mind lending me some?”)
  2. Curly hair deflates when wet. When you get a haircut, for the most part, it looks the same. STOP ASKING IF WE’VE GOT A HAIRCUT.
  3. We don’t have lice. No matter what you may think is living up there, you’re wrong.
  4. Jokes about what may or may not be living up there stopped being funny after about our 8th year of life.
  5. It may be springlike, it may have volume, it may even bounce back if you push it down. It does not act as a helmet. At all.

And, with another bad segue, I’m planning to bring up the topic of my new design. You may have noticed things have changed a little ’round these parts (And suddenly, the voice in my head has an old style western accent…). I’d gotten a little tired of Garland, the theme I was using before, and I figured Daily Desktop was no longer an appropriate title for this operation I’m running. Thus, Broken Records. Cliche, I know. I’m entirely open to suggestions. Puns are…permissible, but not recommended.

Here’s today’s homogeneous playlist

  1. What’s My Age Again by Blink-182
  2. Disloyal Order of Water Buffalo by Fall Out Boy
  3. The Only Difference Between Martyrdom and Suicide is Press Coverage by Panic! At the Disco
  4. Heart Heart Heartbreak by Boys Like Girls
  5. Surround by American Hi-Fi
  6. Crazy 8s by Mae
  7. Get Out by Circa Survive
  8. That’s Our Hero Shot by Daphne Loves Derby
  9. Something I Said by Safetysuit
  10. The Fantasy by 30 Seconds to Mars
Leave a Reply

